All Fall Down

Author(s): Matthew Condon

True Crime

The gripping finale to Three Crooked Kings and Jacks and Jokers brings to a close Matthew Condon's bestselling true crime trilogy.

In 1983, the soon-to-be-knighted Police Commissioner Terry Lewis continues to turn a blind eye to the operation of The Joke, a highly organised system of graft payments from illegal gambling, prostitution, and illicit drugs. As the tentacles of this fraudulent vice network spread, the fabric holding together the police, judiciary, and political system starts to unravel.

All Fall Down offers an unprecedented insight into the Fitzgerald Inquiry and Lewis's subsequent years in prison, and explores the real story behind the dramatic exit of Sir Joh Bjelke-Petersen. Drawing from interviews with key players who have, until now, been afraid to speak publicly, All Fall Down celebrates the bravery of those unsung heroes who risked everything to expose the truth.

This epic trilogy provides the definitive account of an unforgettable period in Queensland's history. The devastating consequences of those decades of corruption still reverberate today.

Product Information

Matthew Condon is a prize-winning Australian novelist and journalist. He is currently on staff with the "Courier-Mail"'s "Qweekend" magazine and previously worked for leading newspapers and journals including the "Sydney Morning Herald," the "Daily Telegraph," and the "Sunday Age." He is also the author of several books, including" The Ancient Guild of Tycoons," "Brisbane," "Jacks and Jokers," "The Lulu Magnet," "Three Crooked Kings," and "The Trout Opera."

General Fields

  • : 9780702253539
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : University of Queensland Press
  • : 0.708
  • : September 2015
  • : 225mm X 153mm X 37mm
  • : September 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Matthew Condon
  • : Paperback
  • : 3rd
  • : English
  • : 364.10994
  • : General Adult
  • : 2014482648
  • : 584
  • : BTC
  • : black & white illustrations